It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted. Quite a few assignments and projects kept me occupied.

Got my brand new laptop…it’s a HP Pavilion dv1624TN. Felt it was the best pick for me.

Went to the dentist too(!)…got the filling done, and I feel a lot better. For the past week or so, the tooth ache really put me in bad humor.

I like Saturday evenings a lot. I really don’t know why…it’s been so for as long as I can remember. Maybe because I get to chill a bit, relax and stuff…

Today, while going through one of the  business magazines, I read about the 4.1 million laptops that DELL Corporation was taking back…all because of the Lithium ion batteries that would “burn into flames” on extensive usage. Ofcourse, DELL is not going to pay for the losses, it’s going to be SONY(since they’re the ones who make these for DELL).

This interests me, for the sheer fact that it was the very same Lithium ion batteries that had put DELL well ahead of  it’s competitiors about a decade back. It’s was revolutionary back then. No other company used it and the guys at SONY did not know how to integrate the same technology into Laptop design(they had only managed to do it on a small scale).

Today, looks like it’s saturated. Almost every other company uses it and moreover get the bigger competitive advantage by selling cheaper. DELL wants to tap into other resources as well so as to move ahead now. Unlike their early days they’ve got the cash reserves to do it….it all depends on their ability to innovate and do it real quick.

Leave a Reply

